Identity & form
Record the chemical or material identity: metal, oxide, carbonate, hydroxide, concentrate, alloy or another product.
Two figures with the same currency may describe different materials, delivery conditions and market boundaries.
USGS commodity reporting distinguishes materials, units and product forms. Those distinctions are also essential in procurement: a price for a concentrate is not directly comparable with a price for a refined chemical or finished component.
The following checklist is our original comparison framework. It is not a price-assessment methodology and does not reproduce any publisher’s proprietary price data.
USGS — Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026 ↗
6 February 2026; revised May 2026 · Reviewed 5 November 2026.
Record the chemical or material identity: metal, oxide, carbonate, hydroxide, concentrate, alloy or another product.
Specify purity, particle size and relevant impurity limits. Verify laboratory and qualification requirements.
State tonnes, kilograms or contained-metal units. Lithium content and lithium carbonate equivalent are different bases.
Identify origin, delivery point, freight, insurance and applicable contractual delivery terms.
Record assessment date or quotation period, spot or contract context, shipment timing and volume.
Record currency, payment terms, taxes, duties, treatment charges and specification adjustments where relevant.
The Scenario Lab uses a user-entered USD price per tonne of one consistently defined material. It performs no grade, moisture, contained-metal, currency or chemical-equivalent conversion.
A clear materials brief should travel with any scenario result.
Specify the product form and unit before sharing a cost calculation. Ask a qualified supplier or licensed data provider for a current, contract-relevant quotation or assessment.
Prepare a materials briefLondon Metal Exchange — LME Copper — Contract specifications ↗
Publication date not stated · Reviewed 5 November 2026.
Fastmarkets — Lithium Methodology FAQs ↗
Publication date not stated · Reviewed 5 November 2026.